Mayors (originally called burgesses) were elected annually from 1831-1839, bi-annually from 1940 through 1975 and, since then, mayors have been elected to four-year terms.  At Boonsboro’s first election in 1831, Jonathan Shafer was chosen as first Burgess and Captain Lewis Fletcher, Assistant Burgess.  They served until 1835.  Since that time, over 70 individuals (all men) have been elected as Mayor with Charles F. (Skip) Kauffman, Jr. serving the longest from 1988-2016.

Current Boonsboro Mayor Howard Long is sworn in by Washington County Clerk of Circuit Court Dennis Weaver. Photo courtesy Herald-Mail.